Jo is one of Scotland’s leading business economists whose extensive professional career spans financial services, the Scottish civil service and the charitable sector. An experienced Non-Executive Director and Chair, she is currently Chair (designate) of the Wheatley Housing Group, a Member of the Water Industry Commission for Scotland and a member of the Institute of Director Scotland’s Advisory Committee. She is also a current Panel Member of the UK’s Competition and Markets Authority.

Previously, Jo chaired OFGEM’s expert panel for its Electricity Network Innovation Fund; was a budget advisor to two Scottish parliamentary committees; an honorary professor of Public Policy at Glasgow University and is a former chair of ENABLE Scotland. She holds two degrees in economics from the University of Strathclyde.